Alison Booth awarded ESA

Alison Booth

Alison Booth

Alison is one of Australia’s leading economists, and has been integral to the economics program at ANU. She was a founding member of the ANU Research School of Economics, leading the school when the Research School of Social Sciences merged with the Department of Economics, Department of Economic History, and Econometrics.

Alison is also a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia, and a Research Fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR), London and of the IZA Bonn. She was Editor-in-Chief of Labour Economics from 1999 – 2004, and her book, The Economics of the Trade Union was one of Princeton University’s Economics Books of the Year in 1996.

Professor Rabee Tourky would also like to offer his congratulations to Alison. He has said “the ESA Distinguished Fellow Award is the most prestigious scholarly award for Economics in Australia. I warmly congratulate Alison on receiving this award.”

The Australian Economic Society (ESA) Distinguished Fellow award was first given to Trevor Swan, who was the foundation Professor of Economics at ANU.  Currently the CBE has the most recipients of this award than any other university, with the other recipients being Emeritus Professor Bob Gregory (2001), Emeritus Professor John Pitchford (2012) and Professor Bruce Chapman (2015).

Updated:   25 July 2017 / Responsible Officer:  Dean, Business & Economics / Page Contact:  College Web Team