All seminars

All Series

View individual series using the dropdown for more information on the seminar organisers.

Series Topic Speaker Venue Time and day
General Identification and estimation in panel models with overspecified number of groups
• Qiankun Zhou paper 2018 (PDF, 325KB)
Qiankun Zhou (Louisiana State University) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

15:30 - 17:00
Thu 5/7/18

Econ Theory Dynamic Nonlinear Pricing of Inventories over Finite Sales Horizons
• Michael Li Zhi Feng Paper (PDF, 79KB)
Michael Li Zhi-Feng (Nanyang Technological University ) Arndt Lecture Theatre 1, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Tue 10/7/18

Macro Technological Diffusion, Productivity Dispersion, and Allocative Inefficiency in Emerging Economies Anpeng Li (ANU) Lecture Theatre 1, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:30
Wed 11/7/18

General Bubble Testing under Deterministic Trends
• Jun Yu Paper 2018 (PDF, 441KB)
Jun Yu (Singapore Management University) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Tue 17/7/18

Econ Theory Breaking echo chambers with personalised news Jiemai Wu (University of Sydney) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Tue 24/7/18

Econ Theory Is Bounded Rationality Driven by Limited Ability?
• Terri Kneeland July 2018 (PDF, 498KB)
Terri Kneeland (UCL) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:30
Wed 25/7/18

General Engel’s Law in the Global Economy: Demand-Induced Patterns of Structural Change, Innovation, and Trade
• Kiminori Matsuyama Paper 2018 (PDF, 707KB)
Kiminori Matsuyama (Northwestern University) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

14:30 - 16:30
Thu 26/7/18

Econ Theory Pairwise stable matching in large economies
• Greinecker Paper 2018 (PDF, 291KB)
Michael Greinecker (University of Graz) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Tue 31/7/18

General Inference for moments of ratios with robustness against large trimming bias and unknown convergence rate
• Yuya Sasaki Paper 2018 (PDF, 414KB)
Yuya Sasaki (Vanderbilt University **Special General Seminar**) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Mon 6/8/18

Econ Theory Structural Rationality in Dynamic Games Marciano Siniscalchi (Northwestern) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Tue 7/8/18

Macro The Strategic Industry Supply Curve
• Quiggin Paper 2018 (PDF, 422KB)
John Quiggin (UQ) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:30
Wed 8/8/18

General The redistributive effects of bank capital regulation
• Marquez Paper 2018 (PDF, 424KB)
Robert Marquez (University of California Davis **Organised by /Joint with RSFAS**) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

15:30 - 17:00
Thu 9/8/18

General Expected Subjective Value Theory (ESVT): A Representation of Decision Under Risk and Certainty
• Tymula Paper 2018 (PDF, 1MB)
Agnieszka Tymula (University of Sydney) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

15:30 - 17:00
Thu 16/8/18

Econ Theory Revealed Interdependent Preference and Reciprocity Jingni Yang (PhD Candidate Erasmus University) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Mon 20/8/18

Econ Theory A Knowledge Based Theory of Intrafirm Production with Applications to Mergers, R&D and New Products Kieron Meagher (RSE / ANU) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Tue 21/8/18

General Firm-Specificity of Asset, Managerial Capability, and Labor Market Competition
• Morita Paper 2018 (PDF, 466KB)
Hodaka Morita (UNSW) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Wed 22/8/18

General The Emergence of Hierarchies and States: Productivity vs. Appropriability
• Moav Paper 2018 (PDF, 2MB)
Omer Moav (Warwick University) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

15:30 - 17:00
Thu 23/8/18

Macro The Impact of Credit Shocks: Micro versus Small Firms
• Patnaik Paper 2018 (PDF, 509KB)
Megha Patnaik (Indian Statistical Institute) Fred Gruen Suite (H.W. Arndt Building 25a)

12:00 - 13:00
Wed 29/8/18

Macro U.S. Has a Trade Surplus and a Large Net Asset Position Edward C. Prescott (Arizona State University & ANU **Special Macro Seminar on a Tuesday**) Fred Gruen Suite (H.W. Arndt Building 25a)

15:30 - 17:00
Tue 4/9/18

Macro Competitive Search Markets, Inequality, Banking and Macrofinance Ieng Ng (RSE / ANU PhD Candidate) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Wed 12/9/18

Applied Micro Assessing the direct and spillover effects of shocks to refugee remittances Sarah Walker (UNSW) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Mon 17/9/18

Macro Math Matters: Education Choices and Wage Inequality
• Rendall Paper 2018 (PDF, 1MB)
Michelle Rendall (Monash University **Macro Seminar on a Monday**) Fred Gruen Suite (H.W. Arndt Building 25a)

12:00 - 13:00
Mon 24/9/18

Macro A Unified Model of Learning to Forecast Christopher Gibbs (The University of Sydney) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Wed 26/9/18

Econ Theory TBA Jose Corpuz (University of Warwick **Econ Theory Seminar on a Wednesday**) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Wed 10/10/18

General TBA Morten Nielsen (Queens University) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

15:30 - 17:00
Thu 11/10/18

Applied Micro Maternal Depression, Women’s Empowerment, and Parental Investment: Evidence from a Randomized Control Trial
• Baranov Paper 2018 (PDF, 1MB)
Victoria Baranov (University of Melbourne) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Mon 15/10/18

Macro Animal Spirits, Financial Markets and Aggregate Instability Mark Weder (University of Adelaide ) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Wed 17/10/18

Applied Micro TBA Xiaodong Fan (Monash University) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Mon 22/10/18

General TBA Christopher Jepsen (University College Dublin) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:30
Mon 29/10/18

Applied Micro WWII and the Socioeconomic Rise of African Americans Andy Ferrara (University of Warwick) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Mon 5/11/18

Econ Theory TBA Herakles Polemarchakis (University of Warwick) Fred Gruen Suite (H.W. Arndt Building 25a)

12:00 - 13:00
Tue 6/11/18

Macro TBA Esther Mirjam Girsberger (University of Technology Sydney) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Wed 7/11/18

Applied Micro TBA Luke Haywood (MCC Berlin & DIW Berlin) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Mon 12/11/18

Econ Theory TBA Junnan Zhang (RSE / ANU PhD student) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25A

12:00 - 13:00
Tue 13/11/18

Applied Micro TBA Mario Fiorini (UNSW) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Mon 19/11/18

Econ Theory TBA Yanan Wu (RSE / ANU PhD Student) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Tue 20/11/18

Macro TBA Andres Bellofatto (University of Queensland) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Wed 21/11/18

Applied Micro TBA Timothy Neal (UNSW) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Mon 26/11/18

Econ Theory TBA Philip Ushchev (Monash University) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Tue 27/11/18

Applied Micro TBA Michael Jetter (University of Western Australia) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Mon 3/12/18

Applied Micro TBA Matthew White (University of Delaware) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Mon 10/12/18

General TBA Lars Winkelmann (Freie Universitat Berlin) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

15:30 - 17:00
Thu 13/12/18

Macro TBA Yurui Zhang (RSE / ANU PhD Candidate) Fred Gruen Seminar Room, H.W. Arndt Building 25a

12:00 - 13:00
Wed 19/12/18

Updated:   9 March 2018 / Responsible Officer:  CBE Communications and Outreach / Page Contact:  College Web Team